Parliament is unable to confirm CRAR applies

Schedule 12

Parliament is unable to confirm CRAR applies

Post by Schedule 12 » 31 Mar 2014 09:39

This morning Parliament is unable to confirm the Commercial Rent Arrears Recovery fee regulations apply to council tax and traffic debt enforcement.

I have now approached Parliament again to decide either way whether the CRAR regulations should apply and officially confirm it's intention.

This is the first official sign somebody may have been disingenuous with their interpretation of the CRAR fee regulations. It was first discovered during the making of a TV documentary program about bailiffs soon to be aired and it was an eagle-eyed lawyer working as a consultant for the show that discovered the potential blunder.
I am a paralegal working for solicitors bringing proceedings against bailiffs for non-compliant enforcement action.

Author: dealingwithbailiffs.co.uk

Phone consultation with me

Enforcement compliance Checklist

Schedule 12

Re: Parliament is unable to confirm CRAR applies

Post by Schedule 12 » 31 Mar 2014 22:04

Following a solicitors consultation today and much to my disappointment the new fee regulations do apply to council tax and PCNs. They do not apply to magistrates court fines.

They apply to HCEOs but if the debtor gets the writ set aside or doesn't pay the fees the creditor is liable for them. If the creditor is a private individual the HCEO has a legal requirement to disclose this fact before instructing them to start work.

Source legislation. Section 3 & 4 of Schedule 1 of the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Act 2007 (Consequential, Transitional and Saving Provision) Order 2014. Brings into effect table 1 of the Schedule of the Taking Control of Goods (Fees) Regulations 2014. http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1/schedule/made